Sunday, January 31, 2010

1/31/10 Playlist

Playlist, Sunday Night Folk Festival, January 31, 2010

Grammy winners:
1. Ramblin' Jack Elliott (Trad. Blues): Rising High Water Blues (A Stranger Here), Anti-
2. Levon Helm (Americana): I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free (Electric Dirt), Vanguard
3. Loudon Wainwright III (Traditional Folk): Mother's Last Farewell Kiss (High Wide & Handsome), Proper www.properuk.com
4. Steve Martin (Bluegrass): Saga of The Old West (The Crow), Rounder www.rounder.com
5. Steve Earle (Contemporary Folk): Where I Lead Me (Townes), New West www.newwestrecords.com

6. Carolyn Cruso: Natural Disaster (Have You Ever), Blue Heron www.carolyncruso.com
7. Rodney Crowell: The Rise and Fall of Intelligent Design (Sex and Gasoline), Yep Roc www.yeproc.com
8. Katie Moore: Any Day Woman (Only Thing Worse), Borealis www.katiemoore.com
9. Jorma Kaukonen: Trouble in Mind (River of Time), Red House www.redhouserecords.com

10. Matt & Shannon Heaton: Lily of The West (Lovers' Well), self www.mattandshannonheaton.com
11. Kieran Kane: Marriage of Convenience (Somewhere beyond The Roses), Compass www.compassrecords.com
12. Liz Longley: People Get Ready (Somewhere in The Middle), self www.lizlongley.com
13. Stephen Kellogg and the Sixers: Satisfied Man (The Bear), Vanguard
14. Sarah Jarosz: come On up to The House (Song Up in Her Head), Sugar Hill

15. Jory Nash: Our Time Again (New Blue Day), Thin Man Records www.jorynash.com
16. Christine Lavin: Good Thing SHE Can't Read My Mind (Cold Pizza for Breakfast), Yellow Tail www.christinelavin.com
17. Tim O'Brien: How Can A Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live (Always Lift Him Up -- A Tribute to Bline Alfred Reed), Proper American www.properamerican.com
18. Rose Laughlin: Cold Rain and Snow (The Chicago Sessions), Ramblin' Rose www.roselaughlin.com

19. Linzay Young & Joel Savoy: Missouri Heights (Linzay Young & Joel Savoy), Valcour www.valcourrecords.com
20. Rebecca Troon: Hands of The Musician (Animal Skin), self
21. Gerard Edery and Ensemble: La Comida La Manana (Sampler), private
22. Laurie Lewis: Unfinished Life (Blossoms), Spruce and Maple www.laurielewis.com

23. Laurie Lewis: Cool Your Jets (Blossoms)

The recent Supreme Court decision:
24. Eckstrom & Quinn: Supremely Confident (Songs from Sing Out! v. 47, #4), Sing Out! www.singout.org
25. Pete Seeger & Bernie Asbell: Mad As I Can Be (Songs from Sing Out! v 47, #4)
26. Woody Guthrie: Do Re Mi (Some Folk), ProperBox 115 www.proper.com
27. Tom Paxton: I Am Changing My Name to Chrysler (The Paxton Report), Mountain Railroad LP

28. Gary O'Donoghue: Who Can You Ask When You're God? (Cat Nav: Guide Cats for the Blind Vol. 4), Osmosys www.mrsackroyd.com
29. Wheeler Street w/ Roy Bailey: Ben Kenobi (Cat Nav)

The Dreaded Folk Calendar over selections from Oliver Schroer's "Hymns and Hers," Borealis www.borealisrecords.com

Upcoming concerts:
30. Doug & Telisha Williams: Unrepentant Sinner's Last Prayer (Ghost of The Knoxville Girl), self www.DandTW.com
31. The Sweetback Sisters: Red Shoes Blues (Chicken Ain't Chicken), Signature Sounds www.signaturesounds.com

32. Todd Snider: Some Things Are (The Other Side: Music from East Nashville), Red Beet www.redbeetrecords.com
33. Louise Mosrie: Battle of Blair Mountain (Home), self www.loisemosrie.com
34. Geoff Kaufman: You're Nothin' But A Humbug (Sea Song Sampler), Cob's Cobble http://geoffkaufman.com
35. Kate Taylor: Soap Opera Life (Fair Time!), self www.katetaylor.com
36. Mary J. Blige: Kitchen (Stronger with Each Tear), downloaded
37. Molasses Creek: Jolene (Follow the Heron Home), SoundSide www.molassescreek.com
38. Drew Nelson: Stranger (Dusty Road to Beulah Land), Waterbug www.drewnelson.net
39. Eliza Gilkyson et al: Peace Call (Land of Milk and Honey), Red House www.redhouserecords.com

3 comments:

gail said...

Order Christine Lavin's fantastic book about her 25 years in show business. It's called COLD PIZZA FOR BREAKFAST: A Mem-Wha?? best price directly from the publisher www.tellmepress.com

簡單 said...

人逢順境不逞強,身處逆境不示弱。.........................

Susan Forbes Hansen said...

Wow, an ad and I didn't even get paid for it! 'Sokay, Christine's wonderful and deserves all the publicity she can get.