Sunday, July 20, 2008

7/20/08 Playlist

1. Erica Wheeler: Muddy Waters (Good Summer Rain), Blue Pie www.ericawheeler.com
2. Doug MacArthur: (Long Way from) Thunder Road (Thunder into Heaven), Patio www.patiorecords.com
3. Skye Zentz: Ode to An Absent Self (Legitimate Bohemia), self www.skyezentz.com
4. Robert McEntee: The Mouth of The Mississippi (The Coin of The Realm), self www.robertmcentee.com

5. Eliza Gilkyson: Jedidiah 1777 (Paradise Hotel), Red House Records 187
6. Tom Roznowski: Whenever I Look at Trees (Wilderness Plots), Rosehill Records 111 www.wildernessplots.com
7. Nellie McKay: Mother of Pearl (Obligatory Villagers), Hungry Mouse / Vanguard
8. James Moors: Your Father's Son (Hush), self www.jamesmoors.com

9. Denice Franke: Gibraltar (Gulf Coast Blue), Certain Records www.denicefranke.com
10. Michael Berkowitz: The Perfect Record Collection (A Song for Every Station), self www.songsaboutsnow.com
11. Sloan Wainwright: Ring of Fire (Rediscovery), Derby Disc www.sloanwainwright.com
12. Tim Grimm: Rebecca Versailles (Holding Up The World), Vault www.timgrimm.com

Joan Baez is covering these two songs on her forthcoming release "This Time Tomorrow:"
13. Eliza Gilkyson: Rose of Sharon (Redemption Road), Silver Wave www.elizagilkyson.com
14. Eliza Gilkyson: Requiem (Paradise Hotel), Red House Records 187

15. Roy Zimmerman: Eine Kleine Barackmusik (Thanks for The Support), Metaphor www.royzimmerman.com
16. David Stoddard: Driving in A Circle (Get Off My Lawn), self www.davidstoddard.com
17. We're About 9: Nobody Flying (Paperdust * Stardust), self www.wa9.com
18. Robin & Linda Williams: Down Home Diva (Radio Songs), Red House 204

19. Tom Chapin: Hunger & Thirst (So Nice to Come Home), Sundance
20. Rory McLeod: Hunger Is The Best Sauce (Mouth to Mouth), Talkative www.rorymcleod.com
21. Joni Mitchell: Banquet (For the Roses), Asylum 5057
22. Phil Lee: 3 Faces in The Window (Songbook Americana), Shanachie
23. Tom Paxton: Feed the Children (Up & Up), Mountain Railroad www.tompaxton.com

24 - 26 from "Moneyland," McCoury Music 0005 www.mccourymusic.com
24. Del McCoury, Mac Wiseman, Tim O'Brien, Gillian Welch & David Rawlings: Breadline Blues 2008
25. Del McCoury Band: Moneyland
26. Marty Stuart / Merle Haggard: Farmer's Blues

27. Susan Werner: Help Somebody (The Gospel Truth), self www.susanwerner.com
28. Paul Thorn: What Have You Done to Lift Somebody Up (A Long Way from Tupelo), Perpetual Obscurity www.paulthorn.com

The Dreaded Folk Calendar over selections from Lee Murdock's "Wordless," Depot Recordings www.leemurdock.com

29. Woodchucks' Revenge: Mama Fried (Loose in The Hills), self [Connecticut is the third thinnest state in the nation, but that's not so great!]
0. Modern Man: Jews Don't Camp (Modern Immaturity), Inverted Turtle www.modernman3.com
31. David Stoddard: Stuff (Get Off My Lawn), self www.davidstoddardmusic.com
32. The Chad Mitchell Trio: The George Bush Society (single), self www.chadmitchelltrio.com
33. Roy Zimmerman: To Be A Liberal (Thanks for the Support), Metaphor www.royzimmerman.com

34. Neal & Leandra: Luis [I Know] (Dancing with A Ghost), Uncle Gus www.nealandleandra.com
35. Kris Delmhorst: Heavens Hold the Sun (Shotgun Singer), Signature Sounds 2012
36. Robin & Linda Williams: 50,000 Names (Radio Songs), Red House 204
37. The Horse Flies: Veins of Coal (Until the Ocean), Pest Control www.thehorseflies.com
38. Eliza Gilkyson et al: Peace Call (Land of Milk and Honey), Red House 174

2 comments:

Teresa said...

I really enjoy listening to Sloan Wainwright's new cd..."rediscovery". She has voice, as I see it, of an angel. My fave song on this cd is "ring of fire" because I have grown up listening to that song...and to hear her sing it, with such a terrific voice...is breathtaking. Totally awesome!

michelle said...

Thanks for playing We're About 9 and David Stoddard! The two most underplayed artists in American Folk, IMHO, and back to back yet!

Michelle